Chocolate-Rum-Oatmeal Cookies

Oatmeal cookies generally seem to be more of a winter thing, but sticking inside such confines is not really my shtick. When I want a dill pickle, I must have a dill pickle. When I wake up Christmas morning at 4am craving scrambled eggs, I have to make them immediately. As with food cravings, I have baking cravings, and going with your gut when choosing a recipe likely will also please the crowd of guts waiting to consume your creation. Always scratch your baking itch, because I bet your finished product will turn out even more delicious! Besides, I had mistakenly requested the grocery purchaser to pick up a bag of oatmeal when we already had a bag, resulting in oatmeal overload. This recipe and the next will be my attempts at using up some of this oatey goodness. Is oatey a word? Spell-check says no. I used this recipe for german oatmeal cookies, but added in a few mix-ins and made a few adjustments to ultimately create the perfect oatmeal cookie. Rum, vanilla, chocolate and pecans form an unbeatable combo- enough said. See my version below:

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups butter, melted
  • 5 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon amber rum
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375° F.
  • Put oats into large mixing bowl. Add melted butter and stir.
  • Add brown and white sugars and mix.
  • Mix baking powder and flour together and blend into oat mixture.
  • Mix vanilla, rum and eggs together and blend into oat mixture.
  • Add chips and pecans to the mixture.
  • Drop by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets.
  • Bake about 10-15 minutes or until golden.
Yum yum!
